he 56 members of the Class of 2017 were encouraged to strike a balance between looking forward, looking backward, and remaining in the present as the WT community celebrated the school’s 130th Commencement exercises on June 4, 2017.

Student speakers Jacob Dubner, Jack Waters, and Kayla Small were joined by Board President Jennifer Gonzalez McComb ’89 and Head of School Gary J. Niels in addressing the students and their guests. A recap of the class’s life at WT was provided by Sara Fierstein and Cherisse Tompkins in their Welcome remarks.

Strive to have a real and lasting impact on the world, whether that means discovering a cure that saves millions of lives, or brightening the day of a single person.Jacob Dubner, President, Student Council and Jack R. Waters, Secretary/Treasurer, Student Council
The WT community looks forward to when you can come back and share all that you have accomplished.Jennifer Gonzalez McComb ’89, Board President
I finally understood that you have to find the joy in playing each level of the game and making sure to live in the now. Kayla Small
At WT we were given opportunities that pushed us to see things differently.Sara Fierstein and Cherisse Tompkins

Winchester Thurston School Class of 2017

H. Haydon Alexander*
Daisy Ella Steagall Allebach
Ciara Grace Bailey
Margaret Jane Caballero
Joshua Henry Brelsford*
Grant Paul Charney
Lucy Jiali Chen*
Jacob Daniel Chreky*
Geoffrey Max Cohen
Paul Domenico Dozzi
Jacob Lee Dubner*
Emmanuel J. Eppinger
Dorian Jon Epps
Sabrina Paige Evoy
Emma Ozra Famili

Sara Rose Fierstein*
Layne Eden Glimcher*
Noah Samuel Goldstein*
Benjamin Myers Harrison*
Shaun Aaron Hay
Ua Pilar Hayes
William Alastair Hibbitts
Julia Leigh Hilton
Nathaniel Aidan Hull*
Shannon Harper Kane
Adero Anna Abongo Kauffmann-Okoko
Nathaniel Michael Kurzawa
Noah M. Lampl
William Chye Lee-Moore
Yin Lin
Benjamin Matthew Littmann*
Nathan Christopher Lovett-Genovese
Yiwei Lu
Julia Rae Lupariello*
Claire Bettina Mazur
Jake Brian Milligan
Allison Clarke Olander Murray
Roshni Pushpa Nischal
Aidan Jarrell Place
Malik David Potter
Kaitlyn Laura Pressman*
Ella Simone Rosenblatt
Nathan Alexander Schatzman
Akshay Olli Sharathchandra
Taylor Dane Skelly
Isabel Baird Slaymaker
Kayla Jasmine Small
Margaret Eleanor Swartz
Taylor Nicole Thomas*
Cherisse Mei-Yan Chan Tompkins*
Brooke Alexandra Urbach*
Brent Sagan Vennes
Jack Risien Waters*
Devaughn Thomas Wilkerson
Hannah Jordan Winslow*
Junran Zhang

*WT Lifer    Legacy

Excellence Honored

The Emily E. Dorrance award for a student whose conduct, interaction, and leadership best demonstrates the school credo, Think also of the comfort and the rights of others, given by friends of the Dorrance family

Jacob Lee Dubner

The Mary A. Campbell award for outstanding scholarship, given by Katherine Houston Rush

Sabrina Paige Evoy

The Mary A. Graham Mitchell award for character, personality, loyalty, and scholarship

Jack Risien Waters

The Alice M. Thurston award for integrity, courageous leadership, and service

Roshni Pushpa Nischal

The Ruth S. Gamsby award for citizenship, kindness, and courteous helpfulness, given by the Daniel F. Mullane family

Claire Bettina Mazur

The Nina Wadhwa Student Council award for a student who best exemplifies Gentle in Manner, Strong in Deed, endowed by the Wadhwa family

Jacob Lee Dubner

The Jane L. Scarborough Award for teaching excellence

Heather Capezzuti