“Recall the people and places who helped you get where you are, and remember to pay that forward and think of the students of the future.”—Jennifer Gonzalez McComb ‘89, Board President

The 61 members of the Class of 2018 were encouraged to continue learning, to follow their passions, and to use their voices as the WT community celebrated the school’s 131st Commencement exercises on June 3, 2018. Student speakers Joseph ‘Joey’ Scapellato, Amber’Nay Wilkins, Yijia Chen, and Harrison Grodin were joined by Board President Jennifer Gonzalez McComb ’89 and Head of School Gary J. Niels in addressing the students and their guests.

“Seeing my peers refusing to be quiet and standing together shook me to my core and put one thought into my head: who is stopping me? So I decided to use my voice like all of you have.”—Amber’Nay Wilkins

Explore intentionally; learn what interests you; and whatever it is that you want to do, find a way to make it happen.”—Yijia Chen and Harrison Grodin 

“You all have shown me the value in forging your own paths and following your passions, and I wanted to tell everyone here to never lose that spirit.”—Joey Scapellato, President, Student Council

“What matters most is the kind of human beings you are becoming.”—Gary J. Niels, Head of School

Winchester Thurston School Class of 2018

Arthur Jacoud Barelli
Emily A. Bassett*
Ria Bazaz
Jacob Robert Beiriger
Katibeth Marie Blalock
Siena Cara Blelloch
Julia Anne Bulova*
Madeleine Lucy Cahall
Adriana Louise Catalano
Yijia Chen 陈一嘉
Sophie Olivia Choo
Yanming Cui 崔晏铭
Antonia Ingrid Dumitriu
Anatea Carina Einhorn
Tristan Gregory Forsythe
Emma Parker Francis
Juliana Sofia Freeman
Timothy Jacob Ganger
Madeline Patricia Glackin*
Griffin Torchia Gordon
Ashanti S. Grisham
Harrison D. Grodin*
Jonathan Hansen-Kemp
Elliot Parker Hare*
Maxwell Ethan Harlow*
Brenda Theresa Hayes
Lynne Elizabeth Irvin
Reilly Clemen Jackman
Ellis George James*
Cameron Jamel Johnson
Zihao Kong 孔子豪
Hannah Gean Kwiecinski
Sophia Marie Lebiere
London Lining
Isibéal Eve McGough*
Dominique Nichole Mittermeier
Donovan William Hanif Moore
Nathan J. Moss
Jivak Harbans Nischal
Daniel Matthew Plaut
Emily Kendall Pollock*
Gordon Avery Pollock*
Isel Leontine Pollock*
Rae’mon Prunty
Ashley Sierra Rayzer
Hanna Duffy Riley
Jonathan Walter Roman*
Hanna Ashley Sante
Joseph Gabriele Scapellato
David Harrigal Scheatzle
Erika Sogawa
Sophia Bela Stone
Erica Taylor Sweeney*
Ross Marcus Tedder
Gia Larette Thorpe
Ayanna Eva Townsend
Hefei Tu 屠鹤飞
Anastassios Tzounopoulos
Christopher John Uribe*
Luka Michelle van de Venne
Amber’Nay Isabella Wilkins
*WT Lifer  Legacy

Excellence Honored

The Emily E. Dorrance award for a student whose conduct, interaction, and leadership best demonstrates the school credo, Think also of the comfort and the rights of others, given by friends of the Dorrance family
Christopher John Uribe

The Mary A. Campbell award for outstanding scholarship, given by Katherine Houston Rush
Yijia Chen 陈一嘉

The Mary A. Graham Mitchell award for character, personality, loyalty, and scholarship
Isibéal Eve McGough

The Alice M. Thurston award for integrity, courageous leadership, and service
Ayanna Eva Townsend

The Ruth S. Gamsby award for citizenship, kindness, and courteous helpfulness, given by the Daniel F. Mullane family
Jivak Harbans Nischal

The Nina Wadhwa Student Council award for a student who best exemplifies Gentle in Manner, Strong in Deed, endowed by the Wadhwa family
Brenda Theresa Hayes

The Jane L. Scarborough Award for teaching excellence
Adam Brownold